A new skill, mastered.

I love to share recipes.. and this one I will taunt you with because it is TOP SECRET! I just wanted to share with all of my readers that I mastered Mom Mom’s green bean recipe. Yep, it took me like 10 years of trying but I finally got it. They are delicious too!

That brings me to tonight’s menu which I will share (- the green beans).

As you know I’m on a break from ‘processed’ foods.. they aren’t being consumed in our house.

Tonight’s chicken & noodles (tear** I didn’t get to use canned chicken!)
Chicken & Noodles
I used 48 oz chicken stock
3 carrots peeled and sliced
1/2 sweet onion
2 tbsp butter
2 tbsp flour
approx 1/4 cup milk
10 oz freeze dried amish noodles
8 oz chicken (I used carving board all natural by Oscar Mayer today) It’s rotisserie chicken! OR you could grab a whole chicken at the grocery for about the same price.

I made a roux (melted butter and let it cook for a bit) sprinkle it with flour, and whisk in a few splashes of chicken stock.
Then I added the rest of the chicken stock, the onions and carrots.
Cook for 1/2 hr
Add chicken
Simmer for 15 mins or so
Then I added the noodles and a splash of milk (somewhere around 1/4 cup!)
Simmer away and add salt & pepper to taste. DELICOUS and done in just a bit.

Mashed potatoes:
6 large potatoes peeled
1/2 cup chicken stock
2 tbsp butter.
Boil potatoes, drain, mash with butter and chicken stock.
Season with salt/pepper to taste.
These are AMAZING!!

I’m off to enjoy a plate now, with Mom Mom’s green beans. Be jealous- very jealous =0)

Leave a Reply

