An announcement & last few thoughts for 2010

Addy has had a ‘good’ day today.. but I fear she has another ear infection. Geez, I can’t get a break. So tomorrow i’ll be taking her to her doctor after therapy. Poor baby.

Ahhh yes- the announcement!! I was hired today for a new job. It’s part-time, but gives me a ton of room for growth & development and also will be great while I finish up my Master’s degree! Yahhooo! I’ve been waiting for a great opportunity and this is the one. I’m the newest member of the Gymboree team! Retail isn’t something I have done before so I am super eager to learn something new! I’ll be heading back to work next week-which doesn’t leave me much time to nail down daycare plans.

A couple of friends have asked me to post some toddler meal ideas.. so I wanted to share a couple of ideas I have came up with. Keep in mind we don’t eat much meat around here. Just not my thing. Also keep in mind I strive to provide Addy with healthy, sugar-free or low sugar meals. I also avoid sodium as much as I can!!

Dinner:

1/2 cup cubed steamed butternut squash
1/2 cup green peas (frozen). Also steamed (I KNOW! I need a micro cooker from Pampered Chef!!)
1/4 cup blueberries cut in half
and for her drink- Addy had some cold milk from a cup & straw

A couple of other ideas:

1/2 cup Black beans (One of Addy’s favorites!)
1/2 cup cooked crumbled ground chicken or turkey. I season it with southwestern seasoning from pampered chef, or sometimes a grill seasoning. It’s too bland by itself and I wouldn’t blame her for throwing it at me!!
Sometimes I cut chicken tenderloins up into chicken nuggets and bread them with bread crumbs!! (I also bake them!)
1/2 cup mandarin oranges or 1/2 orange with slices cut in quarters
1/2 cup of pears (I buy the dole cups!) or peaches diced
1/2 cup cooked carrots (from frozen)
Grilled cheese baked instead of buttered and grilled! I use a spritz of canola or olive oil on each side, then cut the edges off!
On occasion I will give her chicken or turkey lunchmeats from the deli, but I prefer to stay away from them because all of the preservatives.

Addy’s favorite meats are chicken & pork.. so I do pork chops or chicken breasts in the oven and coat them with bread crumbs and seasoning. She eats about 1/4 cup of meat with 1/4 cup veggies.

For snacks, we have came up with these easy ideas:
*ritz bitz peanut butter bites.
*nutter butter bites
*regular teddy grahams (not honey)
*any flavor goldfish
*Earth’s best organic smiley snacks (only found at babies r us)
*cereal bars (also Earth’s Best)
*Grammy Sammies. I find these at babies r us too! They are a great snack and peanut butter has a good amount of protein!

Did I mention the best invention ever!?!? Snack traps! She still makes a little mess, but nothing compared to her snack in a regular bowl. She sits in her beanbag chair for snacks 🙂
The key to toddler meals is to find balance!

Leave a Reply

